All about Cricket: IPL 2016

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a Twenty20 cricket tournament held in India organized every year by franchise teams formed by different Indian cities. IPL is organized in April and May every year. This year IPL 2016 will start from 8th April 2016 to 29th May 2016. IPL was founded by Lalit Modi, a member of BCCI(Board of Control for Cricket in India) and is official sponsor or IPL is VIVO Electronics.

Top 10 Highest Paid Cricketers in IPL 2016

IPL has become a brand over the years. The brand value of IPL was estimated to be US$2.2 billion in 2014. According to BCCI, the 2015 IPL season contributed 0.5 billion (US$7.4 million) to the GDP of Indian economy. IPL 2016 will see VIVO Electronics as the title sponsorship for the 2016 and 2017 seasons.

IPL 2016
IPL 2016

IPL 2016 Teams

The total IPL teams out which some are participating, some are defunct and some are banned teams. Out of these 8 teams are participating in IPL 2016. Two teams have been replaced since last year which are suspended for two years, till 2017 on the grounds of spot fixing. The two teams are Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals. The teams taking them over are Gujarat Lions and Pune Super Giants which will play in IPL 2016.


Participating teams in IPL 2016






Represented City

Delhi Daredevils Delhi
Kings XI Punjab Punjab
Kolkata Knight Riders Kolkata
Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore
Sunrisers Hyderabad Hyderabad
Rising Pune Supergiants Pune
Gujarat Lions Rajkot
Mumbai Indians Mumbai

Defunct Teams


Deccan Charges Hyderabad
Pune Warriors India Pune
Kochi Tuskers Kerala Kerala

Suspended teams


Chennai Super Kings(Banned for 2 years) Chennai
Rajasthan Royals(Banned for 2 years) Rajasthan


IPL 2016 two new team’s auction for these two new franchises; Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions happened on 8 December 2015. The auction was a reverse bidding process, with the base price of the reverse bid set at 40 Crore from the central revenue pool. The companies that would bid the lowest share of the central revenue pool were to become the owners of the new teams. The two franchises could each draft a maximum of five players from the squads of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, with the lowest bidding franchise getting to choose the first player. The player draft took place on 15 December. The franchises were to be allocated a purse of 66 Crore Rupees each to buy the players for their squad at the draft and players auction. .

New Rising, a company led by Sanjiv Goenka, and Intex Technologies had won the bidding rights to the two new teams. New Rising decided to have their team based in Pune while Intex chose Rajkot as the home of its team.

Winners so far

Of the 11 teams to have competed since the IPL first season, three have won it twice, while two have one it once each. The Chennai Super KingsKolkata Knight Riders, and Mumbai Indians are the most successful teams in league’s history winning the IPL tournament twice. The other two teams who have won the tournament once are the Deccan Chargers and Rajasthan Royals. Mumbai Indians are the current champions having won the 2015 season. Lets see who is the winner of IPL 2016.

Rules to be followed while forming an IPL team

  • A minimum squad strength of 16 players, one physiotherapist and a coach.
  • No more than 10 foreign players on the squad and a maximum of four foreign players in the playing XI.
  • A minimum of 14 Indian players must be included in each squad.
  • A minimum of six players from the BCCI under 22 pool must be included in each squad.

Rules related to the timings of the game

  • IPL games utilize television timeouts and hence there is no time limit in which teams must complete their innings.
  • However, a penalty may be imposed if the umpires find teams misusing this privilege.
  • Each team is given a two-and-a-half-minute “strategic timeout” during each innings; one must be taken by the bowling team between the 6th and 10th overs, and one by the batting team between the 11th and 16th overs.

 Spending Cap

The total spending cap for a franchise in the first player auction was US$5 million. Under 22 players are to be remunerated with a minimum annual salary of US$20,000, whereas for others the minimum was US$50,000

What are you playing for?

Well, the most important question that any player or worker will ask his employee is the prize money for which he is doing his duty and playing to the best. The 2015 season of the IPL offered total prize money of 40 Crore Rupees. The bifurcation is as follows:

Winning team: 15 Crore Rupees

First Runner up: 10 Crore Rupees

Second Runner up: 7.5 Crore Rupees

Third Runner up: 7.5 Crore Rupees

The others teams are not awarded any prize money. The IPL rules mandate that half of the prize money must be distributed among the players.

Well this was our article on “All about Cricket: IPL 2016”. We hope we have done justice to all the cricket fans by collecting as much information on IPL 2016 as possible. We will keep covering more on cricket news so keep watching this space for more information. Also, if you liked our article or have any suggestions then please comment in the reply section below.

An undergraduate and avid netizen, Suman is the youngest member of Loudhere family. She manages the News and Current Events category here. Also she employs her SEO skills to make this more searchable.